ED#676

photo.png

Welcome to my Word Press Blog!  I appreciate you taking the time to stop and visit.  I chose to use Word Press for my platform to share my work with you this semester, since it’s a user-friendly site that I used in a previous class.  I enjoyed blogging during my “Equity in Connected Learning and Technology” class I took last semester, and hope that you visit some of my previous posts to learn about my last semester’s inquiries.  If you scroll back to my initial “All About Me” page you can learn about myself, both in and out of the classroom.

I am a strong believer in community.  In my personal life, my community of athletes helps me stay focused and motivated as I train for triathlons, and also my yoga community has linked me up with fantastic people.  In education, I feel the same is true about our community.  In my last class, ED677, we took a lot of time to share with one another (as learners, and as teachers).  Each week we would do a “post five” activity, where we’d search the web to find 5 things that correlated to each week’s study.  This was a great way for us to share classroom games, lessons, book choices, etc.  As they say, “it takes a village to raise a child.”  Within this village we all bring our strengths to the table and the joy of teaching is collaborating with one another within our communities to help us become better educators with fresh and exciting ideas.

I teach fourth grade on the mainline of Philadelphia.  As I finish up my 8th year of teaching, I wonder “where has the time gone!?”  I am currently enrolled in the Master’s Program through Arcadia University.  I am taking 15 credits in STEM, and another 15 in Connected Learning.

As I read our textbook, “Thrive” this semester, I’ll be adding notes, thoughts, and insights to my blog.  Stay tuned to for an upcoming blog post about mentors!   I am currently working closely with a mentor in my building, and I turn to her for feedback often as we collaborate with one another.

Here’s to a great semester!

Leave a comment